Leaving Uganda

Well after almost exactly three months, it was time for this incredible adventure to end.  I was really looking forward to getting home and seeing friends and family again but I knew that this country had left its mark.  Hopefully we have too – I would love to think Jesper, Robbie and I have laid the foundations for a long-term connection between Arsenal and both VU and Uganda itself.  I think we’ve worked really well with each other and with all the various organisations we’ve linked up with.  Judging by the emails of gratitude we’ve received from them, and the hundreds of notes and pictures we were given by the amazing children we coached over the last three months, I believe we’ve done a job of which we can be proud.  If we’ve made even a fraction of the impact on them as they have on us, we should be extremely satisfied.

I know that I’ll miss Uganda hugely, and in particular its people.  From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel so welcome – the warmth, generosity and friendliness we received was amazing.  They have left me with incredible memories and hopefully lasting friendships!  I will be back…

African smiles

Posted on May 2, 2012, in 4. Leaving Uganda and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

